Quick ideas from the November Farmers market…

After missing the last three Penshurst markets due to holidays, flu, and the rest, Saturday reminded me of just why I love working in food and shopping locally. Glorious weather, lots of interesting friendly people chatting over the joys of great ingredients, a fun morning cooking game with Kieron with a very enthusiastic response from the punters, and a basket full of goodies to enjoy once I got home.

Hot smoked hake fishcakes

Quick and easy – my fishcakes made with Paul the Fish’s hot smoked hake

IMG_1144

Pheasant breasts marinated in lemon, garlic, chilli and thyme – really quick and totally delicious

Local game at its very best at the start of Saturday’s market…

P3010030

 

So, in the two days since my Saturday’s shop at Penshurst I have eaten:

 

Saturday lunch

Black pudding Scotch eggs and smoked mackerel pate from Naked and Ready with toasted granary bread from Rushbridge’s, and a large dollop of lime and hot chilli jelly from market guests, JollyScrummy

Saturday supper (oh my!):

Roasted wild duck (from Kieron, and one of my favourite game birds) with rosemary, garlic and quinces with a sherry vinegar sauce (inspired by Rowley Leigh) served pink with Puy lentils and steamed cavolo nero

Orange and brown sugar roasted figs (recipe from my old BBC book Vegetarian Food for Friends) with scoops of Simply Ice Cream’s honeycomb

Sunday lunch

Bangers, mash and braised cabbage

Both of Kieron’s venison and wild boar and apple sausages (I couldn’t decide which was my favourite) with braised shredded garlic cabbage and mash

Quince and apple almond crumble (based on the pear and blackberry recipe in my busy mum’s cookbook) with home made custard

Monday supper

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Fishcakes made from Arcade Fisheries’ Paul’s amazing hot smoked hake – a superbly soft, smoky, meaty fish (and Paul was right – not as oily as salmon). I just mixed the flaked fish with left over mashed potato and shredded cavolo nero from the weekend, added a teaspoon of chopped capers, squeeze of lemon juice and plenty of white pepper. Quick egg and breadcrumb and fry in the wonderful cold pressed rapeseed oil from Pure Kent. Totally, wonderfully delicious with a spoonful of tartare sauce.

All the ingredients apart from the figs (and crumble topping) came from my garden or within ten miles from my cottage. Quick, seasonal, totally delicious and doesn’t break the bank…my kind of cooking….

No time to write recipes in full as I’m in full editing mode on my Dinner Times manuscript – the sixties are swinging for me today (check me on Amazon for more details of both books I am finishing off which both come out next March!)

 

About marygwynn

Food writer, mum, traveller, dog walker. Author
This entry was posted in Farmers Market, In season, Kent, Local food, Places, Recipes and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

